Biased unto them

My respect and love for my family,
Is no illogical obligation for me to follow,
Non attachment asks of me, To be devoid of concern towards them,
Unbiased neutral judgement asks of me,
To be objective and to be hollow,
But I feel, I am just a branch on the tree, called me,
But they are the roots and the stem.
Their hopes and aspirations, their fears and inhibitions, Become our character’s subtle parts,
Their thoughts and beliefs or the opposite of them, we inherit,
During the time we spend in their company,
The first images of the world we form in our psyche,
The first impression of our being taking shape in our hearts,
For most it is them, for the bereft ones, it is their absence, But its them, who gift us, our initial chord, in the eternal symphony.
But to be attached is a guarantee to be unjust,
And when faced with the conflict, judiciously decide we must,
Our emotional connect is our private property,
Toward the feelings, we might be obliged,
Toward the possessions, we might have our rights,
But I feel forever indebted, to the unadulterated trust, they had in me,
Even during my weak moments of utter shame and disgust,
And forever I’ll be beholden, to them for just being there,
When I was a scared little kid, frightened by the thunders in the rainy nights.

Leave a comment